epicure · seoul life

Costco Seoul

After two weeks with only a case of water and two bottles of champagne in my fridge, I decided it was time to stock up and start cooking from home again seeing as my best friend is making me lose some weight for her wedding. Oh well, good excuse to indulge in one of the great pleasures in my life: grocery shopping.

IMG_1547[1]

So Costco, for those of you grocery shopping newbies, is a wholesale members club. Which means you need to pay for the privilege of shopping there. In Korea, membership is W 35,000 and cards are non-transferable. But if you’re going to be a cheapass like me, just borrow your neighbour’s card, sneak in and get all nervous at check out in case they check the photo and make you take it all back. Thankfully, they didn’t check the photo (this time)!

IMG_1545[1]

I’m not gonna lie, I walked down every single aisle and spent two hours there. You’ll find a few things there that you won’t find at your local E-mart of Home Plus stores such as brownie brittle! (which I put back sighs), and Swiss Miss ice cream bars (which I also put back) as well as a wide selection of dairy products, mainly cheese in bulk. And of course, the famous Costco chicken which I brought home with me. I got a little trigger happy and kept throwing things into my cart (bad move) because when I went to pay I was a little short on cash. Ended up spending W300,000 and this is AFTER I got rid several items in the cart at check out.

IMG_1548[1]
One of the great things about Costco is their food court which sells (allegedly) the best pizza in Seoul. I have to admit it was pretty good but I was disappointed that the wait for the chicken bake took so long because I would’ve been all over that and then some. Apparently the clam chowder is good too.
Few tips for you.

1) Cash or Samsung card only.
2) Closed on some Sundays so call before you go.
3) Try not to go on the weekend, especially if you’re driving. You will be stuck in traffic for the better part of the day.
Alright, Costco trip again soon. Maybe again today.

Costco Yangjae Warehouse
159, Yangjaedae-ro, Seocho-gu,
Seoul, Korea
+82-2-572-5959

7 thoughts on “Costco Seoul

  1. You forgot to mention how awesome the Bulgogi Bake is, as well as how everyone has to get a pile of free onions on a plate, mix it with ketchup and mustard, and eat it as a side dish.

Leave a Reply

