beauty · seoul life

Princess Nails

IMG_2093[1]

The first thing you need to know about me is that I am not a high maintenance girl. In fact I am, what most people would call, a minimalist. I like clean lines, I don’t do prints or loud colours and my make up is what my friend Michael calls ‘that no-makeup makeup look, you might want to get dolled up once in awhile and maybe you won’t be single’. Yup, awesome friends.

The thing is… the last guy I dated, the Chiropractor, was super fussy about my nails. I don’t know what  it was but I think he was fond of the average Korean girl’s blinged out nails, you know the ones with all the things dangling off the tips;  a little too much for me personally. Over dinner, I’d catch him glancing at my clean but slightly too long, unpainted nails and would casually say things like, ‘Hmm… looks like your nails are getting a bit too long‘ or ‘Don’t girls normally get their nails done every week?’  Oh and once he frustrated stated, ‘Ugh, I wish I could just trim them FOR you.’

Ummm… okay I guess when the guy you’re dating is calling you out on your nails, I guess that means it’s time to get them done BUT homeboy please, I am a girl with a full time job and a full time social life! I sometimes don’t have the time to primp and prep sometimes okay? Honestly, I probably wouldn’t have balked so much if he had offered to pay for them because these babies don’t come free. Getting them done and maintained will set you back W60,000 (approx. USD 50) and if you go to my salon (where they seem to have a sneaky way of making me pay WAY more than I expect) W90,000 (approx. USD 80).  I think if you get more stuff done then it’s over W130,000  (approx. 110) but we’re not going to go there. Tough life you know, being a girl and all…

The nail salon girls constantly berate me for my dry cuticles and the calluses I get from golf and I have to say the sheer number of colours and combinations give me a bit of a headache and send my OCD on overdrive but getting your nails done is definitely a form of therapy. They buff and smooth and chatter away and commiserate with you about the jerks you date and when it’s all done, your hands are so nice and soft and your nails are so girlie and pretty you can’t help but smile and hand over your credit card.

IMG_2086

Secret Nail
3F Dong Young Building,
534-13 Sinsa-dong, Gangnam-gu
Seoul, Korea
T: +82 2 3443 1144

Located right in the middle of Garosugil

2 thoughts on “Princess Nails

Leave a Reply

