epicure · spaces · wanderlove

Bangkok

I’m not exactly sure what prompted me to travel from one city that never sleeps (Seoul) to another city that never sleeps (Bangkok) when I was in dire need of some rest and relaxation. Granted Bangkok is known for its thriving spa industry which covers the relaxation aspect but it is also known for its nightlife, foreign tourists and lady boys which is a sensory overload in and of itself and would probably deter me from the rest I sorely needed but Bangkok it was! Thankfully, my friend Bo, a BKK native, was there to be my local guide and I don’t know what I would have done without him as I had done absolutely zero research on what to do and more importantly where to eat.

I checked into the Mariott Hotel Sukhumvit, one of Bangkok’s newest hotel properties, which probably has one of the bathtubs ever. You betcha I took a bubble bath or two while I was there and while the bed could’ve used some work (it wasn’t as soft and fluffy as I wanted) the bathtub definitely evened the playing field a little. The Marriott Sukhumvit overlooks the city’s vast array of brand new condos and their rooftop pools! something that you won’t usually see in Seoul. Come on Seoul, you gotta up your game! But the next morning sitting poolside and working on my tan, I got a little snippet of what it would be like.

Marriott Hotel Sukhumvit
2 Sukhumvit Soi 57,
Klongtan Nua, Wattana 
Bangkok, Thailand
T: 66 2 7970000

Bo took me to eat a Saibai Jai, a local spot famous for its grilled chicken.  Any Korean worth their salt will tell you that they are chicken experts considering the different variations of chicken dishes we have but I have to say Thai chicken is pretty bomb, grilled with a marinade of different herbs and spices it was so juicy and delicious.  The papaya salad was surprisingly spicy as was the pork dish. My mother is a huge fan of Thai food because she loves spice and Bo had told me that you’re not eating legitimate Thai food unless you’re sweating but sadly, I just couldn’t hang, what with my tonsilitis and all (excuses, excuses). This is definitely a must go to spot if you’re in town.

Sabai Jai Gai Yang
65 Soi Sukhumvit 63
Ekamai Vadhana,
Bangkok, Thailand
T: 66 2 7142622

And of course no trip to Thailand is complete without a four hour spa session! I had tried to get a reservation at Let’s Spa which was recommended by a girlfriend of mine but unfortunately there were some timing issues and we were referred to the Eugenia Spa which was run by the same people, just in a different location. The hotel itself is very quaint with a distinct colonial feel, all white wooden slats and columns, perfect for a boutique hotel. We were ushered to the spa by the smilng concierge and led up a flight of spiral staircases to the sparse but elegant room. I’m not going to lie, I don’t remember much about the treatment because I was completely blissed out and I kept dozing off but the salt scrub felt pretty amazing as did the jasmine scented aromatherapy massage.

The Eugenia Hotel & Spa
267, Soi Sukhumvit 31,
North Klongtan, Wattana
Bangkok, Thailand
Tel: +66 22599011

My friend Mae was visiting from Singapore at the same time so we decided to do dinner at Nahm, one of the Asia’s top 50 restaurants, located on the ground floor of the Metropolitan Hotel, which is a stunning hotel by the way. Bo mentioned that the flavours has been toned down a little, probably to suit the taste of the non-locals but I was a huge fan of everything we ate from the blue crab curry to the soft shell crab and the beef salad (my favourite and the only way you should be eating a salad) – proof that I have a long way to go to get used to Thai spice. The weather was perfectly balmy and it was great to have a meal outdoors under the stars with a chilled glass of white wine.

Nahm
GF, Metropolitan Hotel,
27 South Sathorn Road
Bangkok, Thailand
+66 2 625 3388

One thing that all my friends mentioned I absolutely had to do was visit one of Bangkok’s many rooftop bars. Sky Bar seemed like the obvious choice with the impressive dome and view of the Bangkok night with its twinkling lights.

Sky Bar
63rd Floor, The Dome at Lebua
1055/42 Silom Road, Bangrak
Bangkok, Thailand
T: +66 2 624 9999

Bangkok is definitely worth more than a weekend trip, there are so many other things that you can see and do there like the floating market, more trips to the spa and indulging in the vast array of amazing food the city has to offer. I ended up flying to Phuket after the weekend but Bangkok deserves a more in depth experience. I have to say though, seeing as I had to take a trip to a Bangkok hospital (to get some shots and medicine for my tonsilitis) I guess that’s pretty in depth as far as experiencing a city is concerned… but next time as the Terminator so aptly put it, ‘I’ll be back…’ for the good things!

4 thoughts on “Bangkok

  1. We must have been in Bangkok around the same time:) I really want to try Nahmn someday, but my parents weren’t so keen about Thai food, so taking them there would have been quite a waste. I really like Bangkok and I enjoyed reading about your experience of the city:)

Leave a Reply

