wanderlove

Phuket

20131003-015520-pm.jpg

It has gotten significantly cooler in Seoul which means bikinis and flip flops get packed away to make room for jumpers, winter coats and knee high boots. So while I dream of my next getaway to a sunny beach resort, I thought I should share the rest of my Thailand trip with you.

For four blissful days, I soaked in the suns rays in gorgeous Phuket, an island paradise only an hour and a half away from busy, bustling Bangkok. My friend and I opted to stay at the JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa which was only a quick car ride away from the airport and located away from the party goers who visit the south side of the island. To be honest, one of the main reasons I wanted to stay here was because they have a swim up bar but regardless of that, it was a good choice.

Apparently it had been raining pretty heavily prior to our arrival but luckily the sun started to peek out from behind the clouds soon after check in. Mai Khao beach is fairly isolated and the resort wasn’t as busy because it wasn’t peak season so we pretty much had the long stretch of white sand beaches and stormy-ish seas to ourselves. What amazed me was how fast the sky kept changing and how I could actually see the sunlight spread across the sand and onto the beach as the clouds were blown away to reveal the sun.

As with most resort holidays, you do spend a lot of time lounging about and sitting by the pool but the JW Marriott offers bicycles that can be picked up at the gym for all guests and there’s a bike trail that leads to the lake nearby where you can actually explore a little bit of the local life and get some exercise while you’re at it. Also, for when you get sick of resort food, there’s a great restaurant called Kindee that serves the most amazing food for a fraction of the price you’d get in the resort bubble. I wish I hadn’t been so ill at the time because I would have definitely appreciated it more.

Next time, will definitely attempt to hit up the Phi Phi Islands and try NOT to get tonsillitis.

IMG_3896

IMG_3912

IMG_3907

IMG_3908

IMG_3902

IMG_3901

IMG_3913

IMG_3899

IMG_3898

IMG_3904

IMG_3911

IMG_3903

JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
231 Moo 3 Mai Khao
Phuket, Thailand
T: +66 76 338 000

Leave a Reply

