musings · seoul life

My Galentine

blairserena

One thing about being an expatriette (as I like to call it, although I suppose I would be more of a repatriette) is that every time you move away from home, you leave behind a whole slew of things: your old apartment that you painstakingly decorated, boy baggage – which is better left in your past anyway and unfortunately one of the most important things: your girlfriends.

Moving to Seoul and searching for a whole new set of girlfriends wasn’t particularly fun or easy for me, especially finding ones that are like minded, are able to deal with my panicked six in the morning phone calls (thanks Hannah!), and are able to stop me from eating the entire bread basket at Maison de la Categorie (but we’ll get to that later). Your old friends are always a phone call away but there’s also something to be said about the physical presence of a friend that is pretty important too.

This weekend, I had extended Galentine’s dates with my gal pals and found myself sitting across the table from them, chowing down on delicious food, commiserating about our work issues, ranting about the men who break out hearts and the ones that piece them back together all the while consuming a little too much wine. These are the girlfriends that you somehow find in your late twenties and early thirties when you’re far away from home, that become your extended family in the city.

I’ve always said I’ve been blessed with people though, because in the two years I’ve lived here, I’ve finally found a great set of girls that make Seoul life pretty darn awesome.

So here’s to my girls, old and new… and you know I’m not the type to quote Sex and the City but this one’s for you.

The most important thing in life is your family. There are days you love them, and others you don’t, but in the end they’re the people you always come home to. Sometimes it’s the family you’re born into, and sometimes it’s the one you make for yourself.

Leave a Reply

