weekender

SSG Food Market

8R9B2027(via)

Having lived in several major cities like Hong Kong, Tokyo and New York in the past, I am not new to this trend of ‘gourmet markets’ scattered across the ritzier parts of town. But Seoulites have definitely brought it up to the next level of pretentiousness. Luxury cars will wait the 15-20 minutes to get into the parking lot of SSG, the (overpriced) gourmet supermarket by Shinsegae, including my friend Custin who refuses to meet me anywhere but Cheongdam-dong. It is a great place to people watch though – plenty of women carrying the latest designer bags and pushing high end strollers between the aisles while their husbands trail behind them with the shopping carts.

The prime people watching spot is at Vecchia e Nuovo, a chic coffee joint with locations in some of the hottest spots in Seoul including the flagship in Dosan Park and a location in the Westin Chosun. I would suggest going for brunch (at the flagship, you will love the ambiance and the bay windows) but skip out on dessert, they look better than they taste. But the coffee is good… and organic… and fair trade… and I hope I didn’t sound like a hipster by saying that. 

Enjoy your coffee and maybe indulge in some items that you would be hard pressed to find elsewhere in Seoul. I’m of the opinion that you need to indulge on occasion and SSG is the perfect spot for just that. I ended up buying four bottles of wine despite having several bottles sitting at home collecting dust.  I think it may be time for a cheese and wine picnic in my apartment with the girls… I still don’t have any furniture.

SSG Food Market
Dosan daero 442, Gangnam-gu
Seoul, Korea
T: +82 1588 1234

Leave a Reply

