musings · wanderlove

Peripatetic

20140312-091020 pm.jpg(image by Bora)

per·i·pa·tet·ic
peripəˈtetik/

adjective
1. traveling from place to place, esp. working or based in various places for relatively short periods.
synonyms: nomadic, itinerant, traveling, wandering, roving, roaming, migrant, migratory, unsettled.

I am currently typing this out on my work laptop at my hotel in Dubai. I am wearing a fluffy bathrobe, my hair in a messy bun, sipping on an iced Americano to stay awake as it is 2 in the morning back home. Housekeeping has come by but the room is a mess with papers and files and folders and I am responding to client emails in between typing out this entry.

As an avid traveler, I usually get antsy if I don’t get on an airplane and traipse far far away from home at least four or five times a year but since starting a job that requires me to travel a third of the year, I’ve started to appreciate home a lot more. My tiny apartment in the middle of the city, my wardrobe that is not limited to things that might have to be mismatched when I accidentally spill something on myself and of course my bed with all my fluffy pseudo boyfriend pillows.

You miss a lot of things when you’re away: your social life, the comings and goings of your family and friends and most importantly feeling grounded. But on the other hand, I truly appreciate the opportunities that come with being able to travel for work; the new experiences, the interesting people I get to meet and learning so much about the world beyond my bubble. 

Dorothy had it right when she said, ‘There’s no place like home.’ But at least I’ll have more to share once my travels are over. Like these little tidbits: the King of Dubai has four wives, you should wear flip flops if you’re going to be walking around in the desert, and I almost fell off a camel today.

Leave a Reply

