musings · wanderlove

Airplane Musings

IMG_6502[1]

 

I took the photograph above on my cramped British Airways flight from London to Edinburgh as I sat staring outside the window. After what seemed like hours staring at the endless horizon of blue and white, I caught a glimpse of  greenery and homes dotted below and started to imagine all the people who occupied the cottages and townhouses and flats and farmhouses.

Here I was flying 30,000 feet above them and they were probably going on with their lives in their homes, business as usual.  It’s a little strange to think how everyone in the world is just living their lives and despite the fact that I will probably never ever know the vast majority of them, I felt connected to them in a way, knowing that we were all put here for a reason and that we were leading enriching lives in our own way. I feel a bit silly typing this all out but in one way or another we are all lost souls and kindred spirits aren’t we?

Currently I am on the last leg of my month-long business trip that has taken me from Korea to Italy to England to Scotland to Cairo and I am just itching to get back home to my own teeny tiny apartment and the comforts of my own bed. Even though some of my hotel rooms are actually bigger than my whole Seoul apartment but Dorothy had it right when she said “There’s no place like home.”

Insert a few clicks of those ruby slippers and a quick prayer that I’ll be home soon.

Seoul, I miss you.

One thought on “Airplane Musings

  1. The word you were looking for is Sonder.

    sonder n. the realization that each random passerby is living a life as vivid and complex as your own—populated with their own ambitions, friends, routines, worries and inherited craziness—an epic story that continues invisibly around you like an anthill sprawling deep underground, with elaborate passageways to thousands of other lives that you’ll never know existed, in which you might appear only once, as an extra sipping coffee in the background, as a blur of traffic passing on the highway, as a lighted window at dusk.

Leave a Reply

