epicure · seoul life

Lawry’s Seoul

When I lived in Tokyo a few years back, I dated a guy who once invited my mother out on our date. Yeah, I know what you’re thinking… I was probably thinking the exact same thing.  He had gathered that my mother was in town visiting me for a few days and said,  ‘Why don’t you ask her to join us? She must be lonely at home alone while you’re out with me.’

Mind. Blown.

I was pretty apprehensive about the whole thing and when I asked my mother, even she looked a little dubious but you should have seen how nervous she was before he picked us up ha!

Despite all this, the date when exceptionally well. The waitresses with the funny hats, the waiters making a show out of the spinning salad and the chef carving up the prime rib table side on top of the expensive bottle my date ordered made for quite the entertaining dinner. My mother was on her best behaviour, didn’t ask all the invasive questions I imagined she would ask and the boy was utterly charming, telling silly jokes making us both laugh.

The fact that he was so considerate really amazed me and my date with him was definitely one of the more memorable ones I’ve been on.

So when I had date night at Lawry’s in Seoul last night, after a disappointing rejection from them last week, I had high hopes of the meal. The atmosphere was as expected and the company delivered but the food was just alright. For some reason in Korea when you ask for medium rare, you’re bound to get a piece of meat cooked medium and in some cases medium well done (who eats meat like that?!?). However, what Lawry’s Seoul lacks in flavour, they make up for by their impeccable service and courteous, attentive staff who skulk around like secret service agents with their little ear pieces.

That being said, for some old school charm and since this is the closest thing I’ll get to a Sunday roast, I will probably visit again.
The Diamond Jim Brady cut will set you back W128,000 with an additional charge of W10,000 if you’re sharing.

20140523-100835-am-36515385.jpg

20140523-100837-am-36517090.jpg

Lawry’s The Prime Rib
3rd Floor GT Tower
1317-23 Secho-dong, Seocho-gu
Seoul, Korea
T: +82 2 590 2800

One thought on “Lawry’s Seoul

Leave a Reply

