style

Summer Style

“You kind of suck at being a girl…”

It’s actually funny because it’s true! I can’t help it, I have somewhat of an aversion to shopping, especially the trying things on part. My philosophy is in and out in 20 minutes or less after picking something I like and buying it in five colours so I don’t have to do it again for awhile. My girlfriends, on the other hand, usually get annoyed when they see me sitting on the couches with the gentlemen who look almost as bored as I do.

I will tell you though, that when push comes to shove, some girlie instincts do pop out and that was last week prior to my Bali trip when I realised I had absolutely nothing to wear on my beach holiday. As I was packing, I noticed everything in my closet consisted of fitted blazers, flowy blouses and trousers that are not so helpful in tropical climates. There was one scraggly maxi dress that I hijacked from the kid sister five years ago that has served me well for the most part but after coming home with a bag of haphazardly tossed together Forever 21 pieces (that I have since returned), I realised that clothing from Forever 21 should be left to the 21 year olds.

A few days before, I had noticed an advertisement featuring the stunning Daria Werbowy and shrugged, assuming it was some high end resort wear collection; then did a double take when I realised it was MANGO. Yeah. Mango… the brand circa 2005 which I cursed to the high heavens after purchasing a pencil skirt that ripped at the seams midway through a job interview. The garish colours and poor construction had miraculously been replaced by summer whites and tousled hair that lead me to check the website on my phone and flip through a slew of one pieces that would be perfect for the weather (and for this beach trip!)

So after my dinner date, I sweet talked G into driving us to the Mango flagship store in Garosugil which was on the verge of closing for the night and he argued with the sales assistant  demanding that I be allowed to do a quick shop (10 brownie points for my date), and I did a quick 10 minute run around, throwing a bunch of dresses over my arm and ringing it up at the cashier in record time. My date thought most of the things I picked out looked like tablecloth but they served it’s purpose during my five day trip to Indonesia.

Bali post coming soon!

IMG_7542[1]

IMG_7539[1]

IMG_7543[1]

IMG_7540[1]

IMG_7541[1]

Mango
548 Sinsa-dong, Gangnam-gu
Seoul, Korea
T: +82 2 511 3207

Leave a Reply

