style

Club Mint

We now take a break from our regularly scheduled The Seoul Girl getting fat posts to talk about something other than food.

If I were to break down my style, it would be a lot of black and neutrals, minimum prints, classic pumps and sandals and barely there makeup. Sooooo not so daring on the fashion totem pole. The most exciting article of clothing I purchased this year was a pale pink silk tank top but even that borders on neutral so I don’t think it counts.

So it’s not surprising that when it comes to accessorizing, it’s pretty much the same – simple, simple, simple. I love my pearl earrings and delicate necklaces and it doesn’t surprise me that I have the same ones on rotation constantly. (Well, except for my pearl earrings because I seem to have the inability to keep them in and always end up losing ONE! Mikimoto, if you’re reading this, I think you need to sell yours in singles because I can’t keep dishing out so much money for the pair!)

When my friend Soojie asked me if I wanted to try out some of the pieces for the jewelry company she works at, I immediately said yes because what’s a better way to switch up your style than trying before buying. She send me an almost Tiffany’s blue box full of necklaces and earrings to start.

There was one piece that I wasn’t crazy about but there were a few that were so out of the box and out of my comfort zone, I was drawn to them immediately, the first one being the boho style necklace from Karin Ravelli, a dutch designer who makes every piece by hand. Obviously my selfies need work but I wanted to capture the detail of the necklace and show you how it looks on (as seen below). It’s not something I could pair with a little black dress, I will leave that up to the more fashionably out there ladies out there, but it looked great when I threw it on over a draped sweater and cardigan.

The stand out in the box for me were the earrings from Majique, a British jewelry brand. I had recently purchased a burgundy overcoat from All Saints which had gotten a heap of compliments but when I threw these earrings on, they were all my friends and colleagues could talk about. These, I will definitely be buying.

You can find all the brands, Carolee, Majique and Karin Ravelli at the high end department stores like Hyundai and Shinsegae. In the mean time, I will work on my non food photography.

10890818_1580507005519804_1757505701_n

10914403_1021695441181267_1969916206_n

10914635_394082174090123_1810335283_n

Leave a Reply

