epicure

Bad Rabbit

I mentioned in my previous post that there are much better places for salad in Seoul and this is it. I’ve eaten enough salad in the past ten weeks to last me a lifetime and I think that given the circumstances, I can say I’ve become quite the connoisseur when it comes to my greens.

Thankfully in Seoul, salad is no longer your family restaurant salad bars with wilted greens and a gigantic heap of tinned corn – that seems to have been replaced with ricotta cheese of all things- but now there are a whole slew of places that serve a decent healthy salad that isn’t just a side order to your main.

I’ve always wondered why it’s taken so long for the just salad concept to pick up in Korea considering every single western restaurant has some form of salad on their menu and Koreans order it every. single. time. without fail. But now that it’s here it’s definitely here to stay. I can attest to this by the fact that I’ve had to wait in line during lunch time for meals at Bad Farmers (on the left of Garosugil) and March Rabbit (on the right of Garosugil) just like when I lived in New York ha.

10903529_1401958036768171_243618366_n

10831735_1514862548773491_1009103730_n

Conceptually, I think Bad Farmer is fantastic – a salad a day that emphasises how greens will save your life. You can’t miss the bright red building or the funny little farmer logo. Salads are served in paper takeaway boxes, a beautiful mix of reds, greens and purples that are made on the spot. I normally get the Guaca Green (W11,500) sans nacho chips and with shrimp instead of chicken (Yeah, I’m one of those girls!) but food restrictions are food restrictions if you know what I mean.

They’ve changed up their juices a little since my last visit (avoid the pineapple cabbage!!!) but I believe they have a new juice cleansing package that I’d love to check out.

Bad Farmers
1F 523-21 Sinsa-dong, Gangnam-gu
Seoul, Korea
T: +82 2 515 8400

1516672_1540932972858630_1071354730_n

10953078_424434634389968_749709327_n

March Rabbit’s yellow and green building is also hard to miss and is on the other side of Garosugil. It’s been around for longer and is great for when you want roast vegetables on your salad. They have some fresh options too but I come here for the vegan friendly roast veggie salad (W12,500) that beats a dry chicken salad any day. With beans, carrots, avocado, sweet potatoes, pumpkin, mushrooms, chickpeas and kidney beans, it seems like an everything and the kitchen sink sort of salad but it’s so good and the portions are huge!

Another great thing about this spot is that you can mix and match your own salads and also has some non salad options like rice bowls and sandwiches if you need something a little heftier.

March Rabbit
560 Sinsa-dong, Gangnam-gu
Seoul, Korea
T: +82 2 3444 4514

2 thoughts on “Bad Rabbit

  1. Just came across your blog whilst looking for Bad Farmers and I’ve scrolled through pages and pages of your posts.. Have discovered so many places I can’t wait to go to. Thank you!! Keep it up xx

Leave a Reply

