discover · epicure · seoul life

Power Plant at D Tower

Most people know how much of a Seoul snob I am and occasionally when I feel like I’ve been north of the river too often, I’ll take a break for awhile and stay on my side of town. I know, I know, I am a terrible person. Of course exceptions must be made, like when a friend invites you to a soft opening of his new venture – girls gotta support her people you know?

Jeff Kang of Manimal fame, you might remember him from a previous post, and his buddies opened up shop in Power Plant, a new gourmet food court located on the 3rd floor for D Tower in Gwanghwamun (yes, it’s located north of the river). Alongside the newly minted Manimal Provisions, Coreanos Kitchen has opened up as well as Gilbert’s Burger, Buzza Pizza and Lobster Roll.

Now, I’m not a huge fan of food courts, I find them a little too chaotic, dirty and giving me too many options is never really a good idea. However, Power Plant is not your average food court. The decor is trendy and there’s actually space to move around… I can tell that this place is going to do exceptionally well with the office lunch crowd. All your expat haunts in one spot? Sold.

The menu is a bit different than your original restaurants but you’ll see your favourite staples pop up here and there. Unfortunately I didn’t get to try out the actual food on the menu as the soft opening was more of a snippet of what was to come. That being said, everything was exceptionally good. The portions were made for tastings but as you know a little bit of everything ends up being a whole lot of something and I was stuffed by the time I had devoured the Manimal slider (and the most amazing deviled egg ever!), Coreanos quesadilla, taco and chili cheese fries (which I shared) and half a Gilbert burger. (This little piggy…)

Also ladies, just thought I’d throw this out here but the staff working at the Power Plant branch… eye candy. You’re welcome.

IMG_9765

IMG_9766

IMG_9767

IMG_9770Power Plant
3F D Tower
Jongro 3-gil 17, Jongro-gu,
Seoul, Korea

Leave a Reply

